The Nauru Agreement on Cooperation in Fisheries Management of Common Interest or the Nauru Agreement is a sub-regional oceanic agreement between the Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Densalomonen and Tuvalu. [2] The eight signatories together control 25-30% of the world`s tuna supply and about 60% of the tuna supply in the western and central Pacific. [3] Historically, the Nauru Agreement and other joint fisheries management agreements concluded by the contracting parties to the Nauru Agreement (usually known as ANPs) have focused on the management of purse seine tuna in the western tropical Pacific. In October 2010, the eight parties to the Nauru Agreement (NAP) extended their ban on tuna fishing to approximately 4.5 million square kilometres of high seas in the Pacific Ocean by purse seine vessels licensed to fish in their combined exclusive economic zones. [2] Enlargement was presented at the 6th meeting of the Technical and Compliance Committee of the Western Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC). This article is an updated and revised version of a document that was submitted in partial compliance with an MSc in Marine Policy at the London School of Economics. PNA received the Seafood Champion Award for Vision at the Global Seafood Summit in Malta in 2016. [15] According to the Environmental Justice Foundation, the ANP received the award “for the need for long-term management of the tuna fishery in the western and central Pacific and the need for timely and effective action.” Media Note Office of the Spokesperson Washington, DC September 19, 2018 After its initial adoption in 1982, the implementation of the Nauru Agreement was coordinated by the Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA). In 2010, however, an ANP office was established, based in Majuro, Marshall Islands. The CEO of PNA is Ludwig Kumoru of Papua New Guinea, who succeeded Dr.

Transform Aqorau of the Solomon Islands in 2016. [4] These ANP-specific measures are complemented by the harmonised minimum conditions for access by foreign fishing vessels to FFA member vessels, agreed by all FFA member countries, including the contracting parties to the Nauru agreement. These conditions apply to all foreign fishing vessels, not just purse seiners, and include the requirement to turn on an automatic location communicator at any time, notification to the regional vessel monitoring system, minimum standards for notification to national authorities and an annual registration requirement for regional vessels.